Go Billy!

Jun. 1st, 2016 11:05 am
sarea: (Default)
I went to see Newsies at the Paramount recently (it was lovely... absolutely nothing wrong with a bunch of guys dancing and singing, though some of the story changes they made from the movie did throw me off a bit, both good and bad), and while going through my program, I saw that Billy Elliot was going to be at a small theater near where I live. Of course I had to immediately get tickets, because it's probably one of the most amazing shows I've ever seen live.

Because it was more of a local theater production, the sets, costumes, etc., weren't as grand as when I saw the Broadway touring cast back in 2011, but I have to say that I was pretty impressed with the singing, and the talent of the kid who played Billy (Vincent Bennett). There are usually 3-4 boys who play Billy at a time, because it is such an incredibly intense role, and I was amazed that there were 4 local-ish boys who could do what Billy does, because you need a young boy who can dance, sing, and act. O.o I mean, for the London and Broadway stage versions, they can basically look for boys all over the world. So yeah, I was pretty impressed with what I saw! I was especially awed by their Durham accents. The adults would stop dropping their accents after awhile, but the kids, especially Vincent, were incredibly convincing throughout.

Of course, after watching the show, I wanted to rewatch some of my favorite scenes from the movie, so I went to YouTube. That's when I discovered that in 2014 they had done a Fathom Events type thing where they broadcast a live performance from London's West End, and that that performance was now available on Blu-ray.

You guys, holy crap. Elliott Hanna is magic. I never thought I would ever like anyone playing Billy as much as Jamie Bell, but Elliott might change my mind. He was the youngest Billy ever cast (at 10 years old!!!), and I think his amazingness is what prompted them to even do this live event. He was 11 (!!!!!) at the time of filming. There were 3 other boys rotating the role at the time, but of course he played the title role for the film. He might be the best live Billy ever (I say this realizing that I have not seen all 40something Billys). I can't find a whole lot of information, but it would appear that they cast Ruthie Henshall as Mrs. Wilkinson especially for this production, and brought back Liam Mower, who played one of the original Billys, to play older Billy during the Dream Ballet sequence.

Also, watching this production made me realize, due to a hazy memory, that the local production was actually missing a lot. :)) They cut out certain scenes, and the production values were definitely a lot lower. But the best thing about the live show (other than Elliott and Ruthie) is the end, when they bring back a bunch of previous Billys and they end the show all dancing together. SO AMAZEBALLS.

YouTube has some of the numbers from the live show, but not all of them. Totally recommend the entire thing, but this might whet your appetite:

Clips from BETM:L! )
sarea: (macaron)
Saw Wicked at the Paramount on Saturday. It was really great. I seem to have decent luck when it comes to seats for this show; the first time, [profile] jade_okelani and I saw it on Broadway in the FRONT ROW and at $25/ticket. This time, I was able to procure some tickets (from the sell-buy list at work) that were in the SECOND row of the theater, right smack dab in the center. They were killer seats. The guy who was selling them asked $200 for both tix; he'd paid over $165 each. I kept expecting someone else to show up and kick us out, lol.

Both leads did really well; Mary Kate Morrissey played Elphaba, while Glinda was played by Carrie St. Louis (she was REALLY good). Initially I was disappointed because Morrissey is the understudy. She did really well, though, and in looks reminded me of Anna Kendrick a bit. Her voice could not compare to Idina Menzel's, but... well, that's a pretty high bar. After the show I overheard someone saying that they'd been to a recent show with the regular Elphaba (Alyssa Fox), and that the understudy actually did better. I later watched a YouTube vid of Fox performing "Defying Gravity," and I thought she was better. But it's a pretty demanding role, so maybe her voice is just giving out at this point and she just needs a break.

In one of my last posts about using the iPhone, I mentioned the "Do Not Disturb" function and how I liked the WP version better, because I could schedule "Quiet Hours." It turns out you can do that with the iPhone too, so that's a relief. It just wasn't spelled out in the settings, so I didn't realize what it was, initially.

Just got Psych: The Complete Series! Yesterday Amazon had it has its Gold Box deal, and was even doing free same day shipping. It's already twice as much today, sheesh. I wish it were available on Blu-ray, but looks like it's only on DVD. I haven't seen the last season (or two), but I've seen enough of it that it's a little embarrassing that I did not realize there was a pineapple in every ep. [personal profile] adelagia had to tell me. No doubt I would have questioned why there was a pineapple on the cover of the set. >.>

OK, very busy work day, gotta get back to it. Needed a little break for my own sanity.
sarea: (don't make aaron cross mad)
Over the weekend I saw Les Miserables at the 5th Avenue Theatre. :D It was GREAT. The cast was much better than I'd been expecting. (I never have fears/doubts when I watch shows on Broadway, but touring companies can be so hit or miss.) God I love this musical. I found myself so moved I was weepy in several parts, which I honestly don't think has ever happened during the previous times I've seen it.

Anyway, K. and I were disappointed initially because for our performance, the understudies were playing Jean Valjean, Javert and Mr. Thénardier. PRINCIPAL ROLES. >< However, Valjean was actually very good, though he had a bit of trouble with the high notes (hard to top Colm Wilkinson; however, he had a more pleasing baritone). Javert started out kind of weak, but got better as the show went on. His rendition of "Stars" (possibly my favorite solo from the musical; link goes to YT and Philip Quast's version <3) was fabulous. I get chills just thinking about it! (One Day More is my favorite ensemble piece, just for the record.) Even Marius and Cosette were tolerable. I usually can't stand them, especially Cosette. Marius might fare better in my eyes if he didn't have the poor taste to fall in love with Cosette -- her appearance, really, since he knows shit all about her. -.- Fantine was a bit weak. Eponine was fine (but Lea Salonga will always be the 'real' Eponine for me). And we had the cutest little Gavroche. He was the youngest Gavroche I've ever seen!

ANYWAY... OK, this is all over Tumblr today. So Marvel has developed some sort of app (I don't even understand half the things that get made available these days... oh for the days when email and AIM were fabulous new inventions and I was living on the edge of progress) for the Avengers and Natasha's dossier is available, so we get some details about her movie incarnation's past that we've had to guess at previously, but for which we now have some answers. As well as more questions. But anyway. These are the details. )

I just don't even have the energy to fully absorb this info. I'm not sure if it totally changes my headcanon, or if I just need to make minor adjustments. Sigh.

Also this weekend I was supposed to have a massage, but it got canceled. :/ My last massage was just over a month ago, but it seems like ages. I've just been in a low-grade funk, I guess. Maybe because it's finally feeling like summer here and I'm usually stuck at work. Ugh. Those 5 minutes a day when I leave the building to go grab some lunch from the café is like, YAY SUN. And then it's back to fluorescent lights. :( Though it's apparent that I've really grown my Seattle skin. It's 77°F and I'm like, ohmygod, the sweltering HEAT! LOL. My LA badge is about to be revoked.

One of the best/funniest things I have seen on Tumblr recently: "You know how you get those posts with Americans and Brits bickering over freedom and tea and scones and spelling. And the rest of us who aren't from either country are just looking on like oh just kiss already."

Maybe my next post will be more useful, with recs and stuff. Maybe. >.>
sarea: (fauxlivia)
You guys, OMG, Billy Elliot the Musical was SO AMAAAAAAAAAAAZING. Half the cast were kids and they fucking danced (and sang!) their hearts out so professionally and it was so flipping awesome and made me feel so awed over what they've accomplished in their young lives vs what I was doing when I was their age. >.> Faith Prince as Mrs. Wilkinson was wonderful. She's not Julie Walters, but despite that I loved her anyway.

It's the last week of the show but I'm considering getting the cheap $25 seats and going back to see it again. I loooooooooooooooooved it!

So yeah, the tickets K. got on Craigslist weren't a scam. <g> I wasn't really worried about that, but it was a possibility. The bigger concern was what kind of seats we had. The Paramount didn't say one way or another to the ticket winner, and they could have been bad seats. Instead, they were center orchestra, which are normally $80/ticket! So we totally scored on that. Had a great view of everything.

There are 4 different Billys, and we saw Kylend Hetherington, who of the four probably looked most like Jamie Bell (and therefore, to me, the "real" Billy). He was such an ickle woobie and soooooooooo wonderful. He's frickin 13 and has been doing this since he was 12, omg.

Now K. is all into it and is going to watch the movie, etc. Best movie EVAR!

Some of the plot points are different in the musical vs the movie, but for the most part I thought it was very true to the original. The one part of the musical that was different, but that I thought was very well done, was this one scene where Billy is dancing solo, but then an adult male ballet dancer starts to shadow him (they're dancing and spinning a chair at the same time), but the adult dancer is much more skilled/professional, and it was a wonderful way to show us "This is who Billy will become."

SO GOOD.

I found a sizzle reel! Watch iiiiiiiiit. )

========

I've got [personal profile] laria_gwyn and [personal profile] slitherhither into A Song of Ice and Fire now. They're both reading (and enjoying!) A Game of Thrones. YAY!!!!!!!!

While on this topic...

Jon Snow is losing his latest cagematch! Noooooo! Go vote to right this wrong. Or if you're so inclined, contribute further to it. <g>

========

Still reading Devil in the White City. Quote from the book:

"I have struck a city - a real city - and they call it Chicago... I urgently desire never to see it again. It is inhabited by savages." - Rudyard Kipling

Which I shared with [personal profile] akscully, and she replied:

"Chicago is unique. It is the only completely corrupt city in America." - Charles Merriam

LOL. I'm so glad I'm visiting!

I caved and bought my flight at the ridiculous price they were asking. Now I'm more motivated than ever to find inexpensive hotels (on Priceline). We're aiming for the N. Michigan/Loop area.

David Lebovitz is in Chicago right now and reporting on the great food places he's going to. It is so nice of him to be my little treasure hunter like this.

[personal profile] ropo, we need to go to Edzo's Burger Shop, Floriole Bakery, Xoco Hot Chocolate (for me, not you <g>), Kuma's (another burger joint), and perhaps most importantly, one of Rick Bayless's Mexican restaurants.

From other sources, I also have these on my list: Girl & the Goat, Publican, and Alinea (if we want to crazily splurge -- but even then, we might be too late as they fill up 2 months in advance -.-).

========

I had the nuttiest experience with my phone yesterday. I was working from home because I knew I was going to see Billy. I dialed into a conference call at 9, which ended at 10. When it was over, they hung up, and since my screen wasn't on the 'phone' screen but on my menu page, I just assumed the call had ended.

BUT APPARENTLY NOT. Three hours later, I got in my car and my Bluetooth kicked in and informed me that my music wasn't on because I WAS ON THE PHONE. !!!!!!!!!! What!!!!! Apparently I hadn't hung up the phone and that meant that I had been "on the phone" with dead air for the last three hours!!

My monthly minute allotment isn't that high, particularly given that I am sharing those minutes with my parents (whose phones I am now paying for -- long story), so basically that ate up ALL the "any time minutes" that I had, and it's still not the end of my billing cycle. >< I called AT&T to explain, and they were fairly understanding, and gave me a one-time 1,500 minute rollover bonus to cover any overages. AT&T customer service >>>>>>>>>>> T-Mobile customer service. Not sure if I have ever talked about my horrendous experience with T-Mobile, but it was some of the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. Now that AT&T has announced they're buying T-Mobile (for $39B O.o), maybe they can clean up their act (in more ways than one, since T-Mobile also has a poor corporate reputation for their anti-gay policies).

========

I've purchased another TV. It's a Panasonic TC-P42C2 plasma. It's not as big as the TV in my room, it's 42" instead of 50", and it's only 720p instead of 1080p, but at that size and at the distance I'll be watching, 720p is all that's needed. I'm paying a bit more because it's a Panasonic, but I love Panasonic products so it's worth it to me. I don't plan to wall mount it but will keep it on a TV stand. I did a TON of research about this (plasma vs LCD, size, resolution, etc.), so if anyone is thinking about getting a new TV for the moment I am a font of knowledge. In about a month, I'm sure I will have forgotten everything. <g>

Purpose of this TV: to use my Wii Fit. I've had the Wii Fit for like 2 years but have never used it, because with my current TV set up I didn't have enough space to actually do the exercises comfortably. Well I am sick of my excuses for why I don't exercise -- this will take care of that. The TV will go in the living room area, which has plenty of space, and I will have no more excuses as to why I'm not exercising.

This might also mean that I need to get myself a Kinect for Xbox 360. :D

The one thing I am kind of trepidatious about is that I bought it on eBay. Since it's a second TV I really wanted to be frugal. The thing with eBay is that it's almost always fine, but I seem to have bad luck with buying electronics there specifically. So hopefully there won't be any issues. >
sarea: (Default)
They obviously wrote Fringe 2x18 for [personal profile] adelagia. And now I am FINALLY CAUGHT UP!! Wheeeeeee! Time for my overall Fringe thoughts! Spoilers ahoy! )

BTW T., the Fringe season finale is May 6. >< So I will be in Chicago and cannot go to a Fringe finale party. Waaaahhhh. :'( In SO MANY WAYS the random dates [personal profile] ropo and I chose have ended up being inconvenient. But we didn't know!! >< It's also Mother's Day weekend when we'll be there. /sigh

========

K. has gotten us tickets to see Billy Elliot during its last week at the Paramount Theater! Wheeeee! We're going tomorrow night!!

It was a total last-minute thing. She found someone on Craigslist selling them at a really good price. Apparently this person's daughter had won the tickets but they're in Canada so can't go, but they can switch the ticket names at Will Call. There is a chance that this is a scam, but they sent a bunch of stuff as proof (including her and her daughter's Facebook pages, the Paramount Facebook contest page where her daughter won the tickets, etc.), and it seems legit. Both me and K. had pinged them about the tickets, so if it'd been a scam she could have told me that they were mine, then had me pay as well. So I think it's all on the up and up, as long as nothing goes awry at Will Call.

This goes a long way to make up for the Indian dinner I'm missing out on. :D

========

My mom is visiting at the end of April, right before my Chicago trip. She usually comes with my aunt, K.'s mom, and stays longer than my aunt can. Typically this means they arrive at the same time, then my mom stays while my aunt heads back. During this time she usually spends a weekend with me. This time, however, the extension is going to be at the beginning of the trip (she's arriving first), so she'll be with me first before going to K.'s to help with the kids. This is how our recent conversation about it went:

Mom: I want to come over and clean your house.
Me: You might not have a lot to do, actually! I cleaned!
Mom: What? Why? What happened??

People, this is how bad a housekeeper I am. My mom's total bafflement that any cleaning should have happened without her present.
sarea: (sue sylvester - DUH)
Yesterday I was reading up on the Glee cast, and I noticed something: Lea Michele and Jonathan Groff left Spring Awakening on May 18, 2008. Lea had originated her role in 2006 when the musical first went to Broadway. [profile] jade_okelani and I were in New York in 2008 and saw 4 musicals, one of them Spring Awakening. So we had to have seen it with Lea and Jonathan! I asked Jade to be sure. She actually managed to find the Spring Awakening Playbill from that trip, and indeed, they were the cast members! She even had her ticket stub still -- we saw it on May 16, just two days before they left the show. I'm 99% certain we didn't see their understudies for various reasons. The sad thing is, we both haaaaaaaaated it. I don't remember ANYthing about it; I just remember being utterly bored and bitter that we had listened to the guy outside TKTS and gotten tickets to this boring show (not that there were many options that night). Jade remembers much more of the details, but basically it just made her want to kill herself. Of course, we might be able to enjoy it more NOW, after Glee, but there's no turning back time. If only we had a pensieve.

The whole experience is a giant blank in my mind. I remember us getting the tickets -- it was like, our first night attempting to get tickets at TKTS -- but nothing else except that I felt the musical was so utterly forgettable. I could not understand at all how it could have gotten the accolades it'd gotten. During that trip we also saw Curtains, which I'd also totally forgotten about until Jade reminded me, and the only thing I remember about that is that David Hyde Pierce was in it.

The biggest reasons why those two musicals were overshadowed was because of the other two shows we saw during that trip -- Avenue Q, which was so f*cking good, and Wicked, which was also f*cking good and for which we had won front-row seats (I don't know if I ever posted about that). Both experiences were so awesome and unforgettable that it probably made the other two pale even more in comparison.

I have made a total impulse purchase: the Actifry. David Lebovitz wrote about it on his blog, and basically what it does is let you 'deep fry' foods -- get the texture of crispy, deep fried foods -- with 1 tbsp of oil. Since I love deep-fried foods and can't stay away even though I know how many calories are involved, THIS IS AWESOME. I just hope it works as well for me as it seems to for other people.

Tomorrow's my first physical therapy appointment for my shoulder. I'm looking forward to possibly getting a diagnosis for what might be wrong with it. It's kind of frustrating that it's been so long that I haven't been able to use that arm normally.

Thank goodness it's a long weekend this weekend. On Sunday I'm going with K. and a few others to an early dinner at Kabul (an excellent little Afghan restaurant in Wallingford; such good lamb kebabs) then to see Sex & the City 2. From the lackluster promos I've seen, I'm not actually that excited about the movie, but so much that's great about S&tC doesn't necessarily lend itself to good clips out of context, so here's hoping.
sarea: (christmas duckies)
I bought a monitor this weekend. It ROCKS. It was a little more than I had been planning to spend, but it was a really good deal so I'm forgiving myself. :)) I actually was trying to decide between seven different monitors, and was hoping that you guys would help me narrow down the field. But then LJ was down, so I had to go it on my own, and I don't regret my decision at all (which is not often the case). I ended up going with the Samsung 912N, because it had excellent reviews, a decent price, was a flat-panel LCD, and best of all, has 19 inches to love. *strokes new monitor* Everything looks ginormous! Now I'm really impatient for all the parts to arrive so I can assemble the new machine.

It was a good weekend to be an American consumer. )

Also, on Sat. I picked up the last remaining copy of "World of Warcraft" in the Puget Sound area, and possibly the whole wide world. You'd think I'm exaggerating, but ... it might very well be the truth. Hopefully by the time I get around to playing it, all the issues they've been having with their servers will be resolved. :p

It has been miserably snowy, rainy, and dreary here. Blah. Also, my strange dreams continue. It's been over a week now that I've been dreaming every night, and usually they're really bizarre. The fact that I would dream is strange in itself, because I usually don't dream ... or at least, not to where I remember much in the morning. But they've been staying with me.

I've been on a musicals kick lately, and I've noticed that the older I get, my appreciation for it changes. That seems an incredibly obvious thing to have happen, but I don't know, it's kind of odd, especially for musicals I've loved for years and years. Warning: Spoilers for popular Broadway musicals. )

Also, I saw In Good Company this weekend. Spoilers! )

Some of you have been wondering about when you'll get to read all the entries for [livejournal.com profile] the_feast -- well, it should be in the coming week. A few of the judges are still scoring, but we hope to have a winner announced by Saturday. After that, all the stories will begin to post to [livejournal.com profile] the_feast, probably three of them a day. We ended up getting 20 entries, so there are many great stories to look forward to! :D

Many, MANY *hugs* for [livejournal.com profile] silverbookworm.

Profile

sarea: (Default)
sarea

October 2020

S M T W T F S
    123
4567 8910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios